I am one of four admins of Hermes.wss.net, AKA aristotle.wss.net (no longer
up, we have been trying to weed Aristotle out for ages. It is running Trend
ScanMail for Exchange 5.5, with it set to notify the source, and the
destination of the email. Unless there is some magical hidden option, it is
configured properly, and I'm not turning it off. If you ask kindly, I
personally would be willing to unsubscribe this address from the list and
resubscribe on another non-exchange virus scanning mail server. However, I
do not know about my coworkers that are subscribed.
Keep in mind, the list has been down for a week. It is pointless to argue
about this anymore. The list may be blocking now, but until there is some
official post or somebody tries to post klez (we shall hurt you if you do:P)
to the list, we don't know. In all honesty, Closing the list would most
likely take care of all the viruses, if it has not already been done so.
-----Original Message-----
From: David Jericho [mailto:david.jericho_at_bytecomm.com.au]
Sent: Sunday, April 28, 2002 7:33 PM
To: linux-ipsec_at_freeswan.org
Subject: Re: [Users] It is not funny anymore: VIRUS / WORMS over this
list
On Sat, Apr 27, 2002 at 08:11:09PM +0100, Graham Wood wrote:
> Much as I hate to admit it, I am getting tempted to remove myself from
this
> list - not because of the viruses (1 or 2 a day is all it seems to be) but
> instead the auto replies, of which I am getting nearer 20 a day I think.
My sentiments exactly. I haven't checked my work email over the
weekend, and come in to find that at least 1/3 of the email from the
freeswan users list is virus engines spewing forth their tripe. I
prefer not to hold down the delete key incase I delete something I
would much rather read.
And to make it even richer, I read responses from "admins" claiming
that their configuration is correct, and that it's difficult to figure
out who an email came from.
Personally I think admins who can't setup a mail virus scanner to
differentiate between mail destined for their domain, and a mailing
list that has a different domain in the Cc: or To: fields is verging
on being the villiage idiot.
>From what I've seen so far this morning (and by no means is this a
completely accurate list), these below sites are sending out the
messages. I hate to single out people, but I believe the below smack
of either incompetence or overwork.
Administrator_at_mail.freeswan.org (appears to be exch01.tectrade.net)
HERMES-SA_at_aristotle.wss.net
NAIPMCMAILPMCNT_at_thepalm.com
Telex_Notes_Blm_1_at_telex.com
alert_at_notification.messagelabs.com
viruswall_at_chrysalis-its.com
I have two simple requests.
Can the maintainers of the freeswan lists please investigate the use of
MIMEDefang, or similar mail utility? I thank you guys for all your
work so far, and in the future.
And the admins of the machines mentioned above, please, oh please,
configure your mail scanners to work based on either Mail To:
information, or not to send messages to domains that are not yours, let
alone pretending to be another domain altogether.
-- David Jericho _______________________________________________ Users mailing list Users_at_lists.freeswan.org http://lists.freeswan.org/mailman/listinfo/users _______________________________________________ Users mailing list Users_at_lists.freeswan.org http://lists.freeswan.org/mailman/listinfo/users
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Mon Jul 29 2002 - 05:19:57 CEST